Safe Travels and Warm Welcomes

We made it! This is my first day in Ethiopia. The 24 hours of travelling was brutal. Everything went smoothly. When we arrived at the airport Nega was there with his fiance, brother, and sister to welcome us. When he saw us at the baggage claim he jumped up and down waving at us.

We were exhausted needless to say. Joe was able to sleep a little on our final flight, but I couldn’t. I did get to meet a nice lady who worked for an organization called “Save The Children”. She was headed to Ethiopia also. She had travelled extensively throughout the developing world.

I was only able to sleep for a few hours last night. I think that I couldn’t sleep because I was so excited to finally be here. I feel good right now, but it will probably catch up with me this afternoon.

I think that the city will be hard for me. The poverty is like nothing that I could have imagined. You can’t realize the magnitude of it until you witness it for yourself. My heart breaks continually as I walk through the streets. These people need help! Please pray for these people and pray for me to be able to handle the heartache of seeing such need and being powerless to help.

 I do have some very good news to report. God has opened a door. There is a group of college kids from a christian liberal arts school from Michigan staying at the same compound as we are. We met their leader this morning and she invited me to join them on a trip to the countryside this weekend. They will be visiting one of World Vision’s agricultural projects in Nazrit, and then travelling to Awasa and Langana. This is a wonderful opportunity for me to take a break from the city, see the country, and make contacts with people who are involved in agriculture here. The guys at CHE are moving forward with the idea of doing an agricultural project and want me to work on that this summer. So this trip will be great. We’ll see how it works out.

Some more good news is that I will have more access to the Internet than I had thought. CHE has access to the Internet at the office now. So I should be able to keep in touch pretty well depending on how busy we are.

JB

2 comments

  1. JB,

    Glad to read that you are doing well and have arrived safely. Bianka and I are thinking of you and hoping you, Joey, and everyone else are seeing amazing things and meeting memorable people.

    Good luck, stay safe, and keep writing (I sound like an English teacher, huh?).

    Ty

  2. WOW! What an experience! Our prayers are being answered. You are there safe and sound and opportunities for your ministry are being presented. We know you are traveling this weekend.. We look forward to your next message. The first one was really good. We love you a whole bunch and are excited to see God at work in and through you.
    Dad and Mom

Leave a Reply

