That’s My Boy

dawitLet me be the first to introduce you to my boy, Jonathan Dawit. He was born yesterday in the early afternoon were most of you are. I was at night here in Ethiopia. He is 2 lbs. 14 oz. and is 15 3/4 inches long. I only have second hand details so I won’t say too much until I can see for myself. Jess and he are doing well.

I feel like I lead such a strange life. I am seeing my boy for the first time via email in a little internet cafe in Ethiopia. This isn’t like any internet cafe’s in the states. It consists of 4 computers and other office equipment crammed into a 8×10 foot room in the back of a stationary shop. The walls are painted fabric loosely attached to a framework of poles. The only decoration on the walls is a strange looking asian print that hangs crooked in one corner. I can’t imagine what the Ethiopians in here must think of the lone foringe with teary eyes.

Thank you all for your prayers and support. We feel very loved right now. Please keep it up. I’ll be flying out of Ethiopia tonight at 10:45 and should arrive in Raleigh at 8:00 tomorrow night. I’ll see you soon.

JB

4 comments

  1. Will pray for you guys… Congratulations!!!!
    Is your wife OK after the delivery?
    God’s plan is not always easy, but He will
    see you and Jesse through it. In the years to come
    your family will always remember the
    circumstances of his birth. Will pray that
    the baby grows fast and finishes developing properly
    to be healthy and strong!!!! Tom and Sarah Siler

  2. Congratulations! I am so glad he and Jess are doing well and will continue to pray for all of you. Get home safely to your new son! Let us know if you need anyhing!
    Kandace, David & Family

  3. oh wow. first off congrats. second off landon was born 3.5 months early so I know what you’re going through. if you have any questons just ask. is he at unc? you’re in our prayers bud. *jeff lewis

Leave a Reply

